Union Power Station
Union Power Station is a natural gas plant in Union County, Arkansas, operated by Entergy Arkansas LLC. By nameplate capacity it is the 41st-largest power plant in the United States and the largest in Arkansas. Among the 1,961 natural gas plants in the country it is the tenth-largest.
Nameplate capacity, 2025
2,428 MW
12 operable units
- Gas combined cycle2,428 MW100%
Unit by unit, 2003 to 2025
operating in 2025bar height follows unit size
Unit CTG1 Gas combined cycle, 176 MW, 2003
Unit CTG2 Gas combined cycle, 176 MW, 2003
Unit CTG3 Gas combined cycle, 176 MW, 2003
Unit CTG4 Gas combined cycle, 176 MW, 2003
Unit CTG5 Gas combined cycle, 176 MW, 2003
Unit CTG6 Gas combined cycle, 176 MW, 2003
Unit CTG7 Gas combined cycle, 176 MW, 2003
Unit CTG8 Gas combined cycle, 176 MW, 2003
Unit STG1 Gas combined cycle, 255 MW, 2003
Unit STG2 Gas combined cycle, 255 MW, 2003
Unit STG3 Gas combined cycle, 255 MW, 2003
Unit STG4 Gas combined cycle, 255 MW, 2003
Among Arkansas’s plants
Largest plants in the state by nameplate capacity, with the plants ranked next to this one.
- 1Union Power Stationthis plant
- 2Arkansas Nuclear One1,845 MW
- 3Independence Steam Electric Station1,800 MW
Other rankings
- Natural gas plants in Arkansas
- 1st of 18
- Plants in the MISO (Midcontinent) balancing area
- 4th of 2,383
- Plants run by Entergy Arkansas LLC
- 1st of 11
- Biggest single unit, among Arkansas’s plants
- 11th of 120
Operable units
| Unit | Technology | Nameplate | Summer | Online | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CTG1 | Gas combined cycle | 176 MW | not reported | 2003 | Operating |
| CTG2 | Gas combined cycle | 176 MW | not reported | 2003 | Operating |
| STG1 | Gas combined cycle | 255 MW | not reported | 2003 | Operating |
| CTG3 | Gas combined cycle | 176 MW | not reported | 2003 | Operating |
| CTG4 | Gas combined cycle | 176 MW | not reported | 2003 | Operating |
| STG2 | Gas combined cycle | 255 MW | not reported | 2003 | Operating |
| CTG5 | Gas combined cycle | 176 MW | not reported | 2003 | Operating |
| CTG6 | Gas combined cycle | 176 MW | not reported | 2003 | Operating |
| STG3 | Gas combined cycle | 255 MW | not reported | 2003 | Operating |
| CTG7 | Gas combined cycle | 176 MW | not reported | 2003 | Operating |
| CTG8 | Gas combined cycle | 176 MW | not reported | 2003 | Operating |
| STG4 | Gas combined cycle | 255 MW | not reported | 2003 | Operating |
Who owns it
Shares are weighted by the nameplate capacity of each unit an owner holds.
| Owner | Share of capacity |
|---|---|
| Entergy Louisiana LLC | 50.0% |
| Entergy New Orleans, LLC | 25.0% |
| Entergy Arkansas LLC (sole owner of the other units) | 25.0% |
Grid and site
- Balancing area
- MISO (Midcontinent)
- Reliability region
- SERC Reliability Corporation
- Highest grid connection voltage
- 500 kV
- Water source
- Ouachita River
- Nearest town on record
- El Dorado
- Operator type
- Utility
- Coordinates
- 33.296°N, 92.589°W
Closest plants
| Plant | Runs on | Capacity | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|
| El Dorado AR | Solar | 1.8 MW | 6.0 mi south |
| General Dynamics | Battery storage | 7 MW | 21.3 mi north |
| McClellan (AR) | Natural gas | 136 MW | 21.9 mi northwest |
| SR Camden | Solar | 12 MW | 24.1 mi north |
| SAU Tech | Solar | 1 MW | 34.1 mi north |
| Georgia-Pacific Crossett LLC | Natural gas | 25 MW | 37.1 mi east |
| Ashley-Chicot Solar | Solar | 1 MW | 38.7 mi east |
| Crossett SD | Solar | 1 MW | 39.2 mi east |