Redbud Power Plant
Redbud Power Plant is a natural gas plant in Oklahoma County, Oklahoma, operated by Oklahoma Gas & Electric Co. It ranks fourth by nameplate capacity among Oklahoma’s 143 power plants. Ownership is shared by three organizations; the largest stake, 51%, is held by Oklahoma Gas & Electric Co.
Nameplate capacity, 2025
1,434 MW
8 operable units
- Gas combined cycle1,434 MW100%
Unit by unit, 2004 to 2025
operating in 2025bar height follows unit size
Unit CT01 Gas combined cycle, 199 MW, 2004
Unit CT02 Gas combined cycle, 199 MW, 2004
Unit CT03 Gas combined cycle, 199 MW, 2004
Unit CT04 Gas combined cycle, 199 MW, 2004
Unit ST01 Gas combined cycle, 160 MW, 2004
Unit ST02 Gas combined cycle, 160 MW, 2004
Unit ST03 Gas combined cycle, 160 MW, 2004
Unit ST04 Gas combined cycle, 160 MW, 2004
Among Oklahoma’s plants
Largest plants in the state by nameplate capacity, with the plants ranked next to this one.
- 1Muskogee1,716 MW
- 2Seminole (OK)1,701 MW
- 3Northeastern1,478 MW
- 4Redbud Power Plantthis plant
- 5Kiamichi Energy Facility1,370 MW
- 6Oneta Energy Center1,214 MW
Other rankings
- All US power plants
- 153rd of 14,286
- US natural gas plants
- 58th of 1,961
- Natural gas plants in Oklahoma
- 4th of 34
- Plants in the Southwest Power Pool balancing area
- 7th of 713
- Plants run by Oklahoma Gas & Electric Co
- 3rd of 18
- Biggest single unit, among Oklahoma’s plants
- 42nd of 143
Operable units
| Unit | Technology | Nameplate | Summer | Online | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CT01 | Gas combined cycle | 199 MW | not reported | 2004 | Operating |
| CT02 | Gas combined cycle | 199 MW | not reported | 2004 | Operating |
| CT03 | Gas combined cycle | 199 MW | not reported | 2004 | Operating |
| CT04 | Gas combined cycle | 199 MW | not reported | 2004 | Operating |
| ST01 | Gas combined cycle | 160 MW | not reported | 2004 | Operating |
| ST02 | Gas combined cycle | 160 MW | not reported | 2004 | Operating |
| ST03 | Gas combined cycle | 160 MW | not reported | 2004 | Operating |
| ST04 | Gas combined cycle | 160 MW | not reported | 2004 | Operating |
Who owns it
Shares are weighted by the nameplate capacity of each unit an owner holds.
| Owner | Share of capacity |
|---|---|
| Oklahoma Gas & Electric Co | 51.0% |
| Grand River Dam Authority | 36.0% |
| Oklahoma Municipal Power Authority | 13.0% |
Grid and site
- Balancing area
- Southwest Power Pool
- Reliability region
- Midwest Reliability Organization
- Highest grid connection voltage
- 345 kV
- Water source
- Municipality
- Nearest town on record
- Luther
- Operator type
- Utility
- Coordinates
- 35.686°N, 97.226°W
Closest plants
| Plant | Runs on | Capacity | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|
| Horseshoe Lake | Natural gas | 564 MW | 12.5 mi south |
| Tinker | Natural gas | 82 MW | 20.5 mi southwest |
| Spring Creek Energy Center | Natural gas | 346 MW | 24.4 mi west |
| Frontier | Natural gas | 131 MW | 29.0 mi southwest |
| Horizon Hill Wind Project | Wind | 202 MW | 29.2 mi northwest |
| Mustang | Natural gas | 464 MW | 29.3 mi southwest |
| Cushing | Natural gas | 24.6 MW | 32.5 mi northeast |
| Norman Solar | Solar | 2 MW | 32.6 mi south |